Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a dynamic

Hatha Yoga form in the tradition

of the indian yoga master

Shri K. Pattabhi Jois, a student of internationally well known

master Shri T. Krishnamacharya.

The synchronisation of breath and movement (=Vinyasa)

results in a meditative state.

A special breathing technique (Ujjayi) builds up heat in the body which supports the cleansing process of the poses (asanas). Defined focus points (drishtis) guide the awareness inwards and strengthen the concentration.

And some more practical tips for your practice

Asanas (Postures) are structured into six series:

The first or, primary series (roga chikitsa) gives health and cleanses the body. Second, or intermediate series (nadi shodana) is more subtle and cleanses Nadhis (energy channels) and the nervous system. Advanced A, B, C, D (sthira bhaga) work even deeper and lead to inner silence, strength and balance.

More info about the series and sequences can be fount at:

,Ashtanga‘ means eight limbs, which are:

Yama (Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya, Aparigraha),

Niyama (Saucha, Santoha, Tapas, Swadhyaya, Ishwarapranidhana),







To take all eight steps, body and sense organs have to be healthy and controlled. This is done by a daily asana practice.

Yoga master BKS Iyengar said:

'You need stillness in your body to have stillness in your mind.‘

Then we can experience the state of Yoga that is citta vriti nirodhah (stilling of the mind fluctuations) and we can know our true Self.